Let’s Talk About…: Trump Won. I’m Terrified. Still, We’ll Get Through This Together.

This is the post I thought I’d never have to write.

I had so much faith in the people living within this country. Even if the race was close, even if for a split second we were afraid he would somehow pull all the stops and nearly succeed, I felt in my heart that there was no possible way this man would be elected to the highest office in the land.

This is the post I thought I would never have to write.

This man is a bigot. This man is sexist, homophobic, intolerant, hateful and selfish. This man is deceitful and suspicious and does not stop to think before he speaks or acts. He cares for no one but his own self and nothing but his money and his ego. He speaks openly about sexually assaulting women as if it were a badge of pride and something to brag about. He encourages his supporters to harass, to attack, to kill – any opinion, other than his own, is wrong and dangerous. He makes broad, overreaching, INCORRECT statements about huge groups of human beings and actually believes them to be true.

This man is a perfect recreation of the early years of Adolf Hitler. And we just elected him to be our President.

It is tempting to sink into despair. I have been crying since the results were broadcasted and my anxiety has reached levels of which I have never known. I am a woman. I am 1/4 Iraqi. I am in the lower middle class. I am alone, without a “man” to protect me. Will I be lumped in with all the “Muslim terrorists” purely because of my ancestry? Will I no longer be in charge of my own body? If I go out alone, will some man “grab me by the pussy” for being a “nasty woman”? What will the children of the next generation become, with this man as their role model?

But after much thought, several cups of tea and some very deep breaths, I have come to terms with what must be done.

We cannot run from this reality. It is here. We tried our hardest to prevent it from being actualized and were so confident that it was an impossible outcome, but it is here. We could cry and give up. We could turn tail and leave the country.

Or we can fight in every way we know how, for what we know to be right and true.

My dearest friend who just so happens to be gay and Muslim and Saudi Arabian is not a terrorist. I know this to be true.

My Mexican coworkers work equally as hard as me and are not drug dealers or rapists. I know this to be true.

My body is my own, and only I have the right to make life changing decisions where it is concerned. I know this to be true.

Everything in this life that happens, happens for a reason and God is going to help me through it. I know this to be true.

We will get through this and we will be stronger and filled with an even deeper resolve than before, but we will have to work together and we will have to do it righteously. Without violence. Without slander and lies and persecution. Without being exclusive and derogatory and aggressive. We will get through this with love. We will get through this with acceptance. We will use compassion and understanding and selflessness to win the day.

So, breathe. Take a moment to calm your soul. You are not alone. There are hundreds of thousands of us, fighting off the despair that has set in because of this one man, winning a contest he never should have been allowed to enter. But, we have a plan:

Be Good To Eachother

Do The Right Thing

Don’t Give In To Despair

Be The Better Person

  1. If you’re feeling like it’s too much to take and you can’t handle it, please call The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (1-800-273-8255). Or heck, call me if you want (805-459-7646). You aren’t alone. We’re here for you.
  2. If you want to help the cause and give back, support these organizations. They’re going to be threatened in Trump’s America: Planned Parenthood, The Future Project, RAINN, ACLU
  3. If you want to give your time to help, contact these groups. They need volunteers. Showing Up For Racial Justice, AmeriCorps, Campaign Zero, Council on American-Islamic Relations.

We will get through this, so long as we stand together. Don’t give up.

Mars, signing off. ◇

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About…: Trump Won. I’m Terrified. Still, We’ll Get Through This Together.

  1. You exhibit the same feelings I did and we are two different people brought together by the status of being minorities. I totally empathize with EVERYTHING you wrote and it was so reflective and beautifully written.

    I had a ton of friends of a variety of backgrounds–gay, straight, Indian, Mexican, Korean, man, woman, you name it–and we all share that general sentiment. We all stayed up and never slept after the results. We weren’t afraid of a Trump presidency but more of what that will bring out of the people who support him.

    But we are strong together. We will fight together for values and what is right. And I for one am glad to have you on the same team. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s always a relief to find a like-minded individual, with everything that’s going on. I have so many friends calling me, terrified, asking what to do. I don’t usually know what to tell them, other than, “Don’t let this change what you know is right” and, “We will find a way”. There was so much ugliness in my heart when they announced it that I just felt like I had to get it down on paper, so to speak, to encourage myself and anyone else who was listening. It’s nice to know you’re on the same team as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

