Let’s Talk About…: The Trouble With Being The Photographer

Most families or groups of friends have one: that one person whose photos always come out the best or who has the nicest camera; the one who has the most interest in photography or who has the best eye for staging candid shots that manage to make everyone look good. Sometimes, they force everyone to undergo some weird movement, like jumping and spinning around in a circle. Everyone thinks it’s bothersome until they see how awesome the photo comes out.

378862_313094562046985_332202500_n
See?! I told you that it would look cool!

Because of this person, every adventure and event is well documented with lovely, flattering pictures that usually look better than the quick selfies and instagram shots that would have been snapped if that person hadn’t been there.

IMG_2200

So, what’s the trouble? The photographer rarely makes it into the frame.

They’re so busy, capturing the people around them that they often don’t get to be captured (there’s only so much that can be done with a tripod and a camera’s self-timer). It can also be very frustrating when the photographer can see an incredible photo in their head, themselves included within it but then they cannot execute it because they’re the one who takes the photos. Sometimes, they prefer it that way and many people opt to be the photographer because they don’t want to have pictures taken of them. However, I feel like that group of individuals is the minority.

I’ve found it especially difficult, for me personally, in regards to my blog. I love the idea of capturing each and every one of my outfits of the day in a new place with a new backdrop but that is incredibly difficult when I have to take the pictures myself.

My camera is currently sitting on top of a binder, on top of a ottoman, on top of a hotel bed. Yeah.
My camera is currently sitting on top of a binder, on top of an ottoman, on top of a hotel bed. Yeah.

I have to worry about everything: what I’m going to set my camera on, possible danger that a passerbyer will steal my camera, the frustration of not being able to get a variety of shots, etc. On the occasions that a willing party arises to take the photo, they usually don’t know how to work my DSLR or they have little experience with the type of shot I need.

So, the next time you’re out adventuring with your friends or family and you have a camera or smart phone, why not take a few photos of your trusty photographer? On the one hand, they may not like it at all and they’ll run, squealing with their hands covering their faces. But on the other hand, they may be glad to have some reminder that they were a part of that experience and be appreciative that they got a photo of themselves without having to go through the hell that is trying to get candids of oneself.

Aviary Photo_130668754450684131
Goodness, this is troublesome.

At the very least, they’ll have something to use as their profile picture for any social media site they might use. (hehehe)

Mars, signing off. ◇

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About…: The Trouble With Being The Photographer

  1. This is very true, and I can relate to everything you’ve said, as I’m the one in my group of friends to always be carrying around a camera xD I admire the honesty in the post 🙂 ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

